Washington Has Harsher Felony Cannabis Possession Laws than 32 Other States

Felony Cannabis PossessionWashington is one of four states where the possession of up to an ounce of cannabis is legal for those 21 and older, including its distribution through licensed retail outlets. With that in mind, you might be surprised to know that in regards to felony cannabis possession laws, Washington’s are harsher than 32 states, including conservative states such as Texas and Utah.

In Washington, possessing up to 28 grams is legal; possessing 28 to 40 grams is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail. Once you reach over 40 grams, the charge becomes a felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison; this is equal to unlawful imprisonment and rape of a child in the third degree (which is also a class C felony).

Below is a list of states that have softer cannabis possession felony laws than Washington:

 

  • Alabama: Cannabis possession doesn’t become a felony unless deemed for distribution purposes
  • Alaska: A felony if four or more ounces is possessed
  • California: Any amount deemed for personal use is at most a misdemeanor
  • Colorado: Possessing 12 or more ounces is a felony
  • Delaware: Not a felony until 175 grams is possessed
  • Hawaii: A felony once a full pound is possessed
  • Idaho: Possessing three ounces or more is a felony; anything less is at most a misdemeanor
  • Iowa: Cannabis possession isn’t a felony unless deemed for distribution purposes
  • Kansas: As with Iowa, cannabis possession isn’t a felony unless deemed for distribution purposes
  • Kentucky: Personal cannabis possession is a misdemeanor; it’s considered felony distribution if over eight ounces is possessed
  • Louisiana: Cannabis possession isn’t a felony up to 60 grams
  • Maine: A felony after eight ounces
  • Maryland: A felony after 50 pounds
  • Massachusetts: Personal cannabis possession of any amount is at most a misdemeanor
  • Michigan: Possession and use of any amount of cannabis not deemed for distribution is at most a misdemeanor
  • Minnesota: Cannabis possession becomes a felony at 42.5 grams, a threshold that’s similar to Washington’s, but still higher
  • Montana: Not a felony until 60 grams is possessed
  • Nebraska: A felony after a pound is possessed
  • New Jersey: A potential felony after 50 grams
  • New Mexico: A felony after eight ounces
  • New York: A felony after eight ounces
  • North Carolina: Possessing over a pound and a half is a felony
  • Ohio: Cannabis possession is a felony after 200 grams
  • Oregon: Any amount for personal use is a misdemeanor at most
  • Pennsylvania: No amount for personal use is a felony
  • Rhode Island: Same as Pennsylvania
  • South Dakota: A felony after two ounces
  • Texas: A felony after four ounces
  • Utah: A felony after one pound
  • Vermont: A felony after two ounces
  • West Virginia: Not a felony unless for distribution
  • Wyoming: Not a felony until three ounces or more is possessed

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.