Two Tennessee House Committees Pass Measure to Reduce Cannabis Penalty

A bill to reduce the penalty for possessing between half an ounce, and an ounce of cannabis has been passed by two House committees in Tennessee.

House Bill 109 was passed recently through both the House Criminal Justice Committee, and the House Finance, Ways and Means Committee. It’s been referred to the Calendar and Rules Committee where it can be scheduled for a vote by the full House of Representatives.

Under current Tennessee law, possessing up to half an ounce of cannabis is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail. Possessing over that amount is a felony punishable by up to six years in jail (this increases if more than 10 pounds is possessed). House Bill 109 would amend the law to make the more minor offense apply to possession of up to an ounce of cannabis, rather than just half an ounce. Possessing over an ounce would remain a felony.

Read moreTwo Tennessee House Committees Pass Measure to Reduce Cannabis Penalty

Nashville Lawmakers Vote 32 to 4 to Decriminalize Cannabis

nashvilleA Nashville measure to decriminalize the possession of small amounts of cannabis has received initial approval from the Metro City Council. The vote was 32 to 4.

Under the proposed law, the possession of up to a half an ounce of cannabis would no longer result in a criminal charge or jail time, instead being reduced to a $50 civil penalty or 10 hours community service. Under current law the possession of even one gram of cannabis is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,500.

Read moreNashville Lawmakers Vote 32 to 4 to Decriminalize Cannabis

Legislation to Defelonize Cannabis Possession Signed into Law in Tennessee

jointLegislation to remove the possibility of a felony conviction for the personal possession of up to half an ounce of cannabis has been signed into law by Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam.

Under current law, someone caught possessing up to a half ounce of cannabis for the third time can be charged with a felony punishable by up to six years in prison. House Bill 1478 changes the law so that third and subsequent cannabis possession offenses will be reduced to a misdemeanor, punishable by no more than one year in jail (the same penalty for someone’s first or second offense)

Read moreLegislation to Defelonize Cannabis Possession Signed into Law in Tennessee

Tennessee Governor Signs Medical Cannabis Bill Into Law

Thepl medical use of cannabis extracts for those with epilepsy is now legal in Tennessee, after Governor Bill Haslam signed House Bill 0197 into law Monday.

The bill allows those with seizure disorders to possess and use cannabis extracts – such as tinctures and oils – if they receive a recommendation from a physician. The law requires that the THC percentage in the extracts be no higher than 0.9%. The law unfortunately doesn’t establish a legal means for patients to obtain the medicine.

Read moreTennessee Governor Signs Medical Cannabis Bill Into Law

Tennessee Legislature Unanimously Passes Medical Cannabis Bill, Heads to Governor

Tennessee’s full Legislature has approved a bill – HB0197 – to legalize the possession and use of cannabis extracts for the treatment of seizure disorders such as epilepsy.MedicalMarijuana2-JCR-600x399

The Senate passed the bill Monday night with a unanimous 26-0 vote, and the House of Representative approved the proposal shortly after with a 95 to 0 vote. The measure will now be sent to Governor Bill Haslam for consideration.

The proposal would allow those with seizure disorders who receive a recommendation from a physician to possess and use cannabis extracts that contain no more than 0.9% THC.

Read moreTennessee Legislature Unanimously Passes Medical Cannabis Bill, Heads to Governor

Tennessee Bill to End Jail Time for Cannabis Possession Passes House Committee

Tennessee’smmw_pot_112108_article House Finance, Ways & Means Committee has passed House Bill 0873, a proposal to end the possibility of jail for the possession and exchange of up to an ounce of cannabis.

Under current Tennessee law, someone caught possessing or sharing up to half an ounce of cannabis can be hit with a misdemeanor charge, and placed in jail for up to a year (the maximum penalty increases to 6 years for a person’s third offense). Someone in possession of over half an ounce is guilty of a felony, and can spend up to 6 years in prison.

Read moreTennessee Bill to End Jail Time for Cannabis Possession Passes House Committee

Companion Bills to Legalize Cannabis Filed in Tennessee

Companion bills tennesseeto legalize the possession of cannabis for recreational purposes have been filed in Tennessee’s House and Senate.

Representative Harold Love has filed House Bill 873, and Senator Jeff Yarbro has filed Senate Bill 1211. Both measures would legalize the possession of up to a half an ounce of cannabis, with individuals able to legally transfer the substance from one adult to the next as long as money isn’t involved.

Read moreCompanion Bills to Legalize Cannabis Filed in Tennessee