Oregon Raises Age for Tobacco Products and “Inhalant Delivery Systems” to 21

Oregon Governor Kate Brown has signed into law a measure that raises the minimum age for purchasing tobacco and “inhalant delivery systems” to 21.

Governor Brown signed Senate Bill 754 into law yesterday, roughly a month after it was approved by the Hour of Representatives with a 39 to 20 vote, and the Senate with a 19 to 11 vote. The bill was introduced by Senator Elizabeth Steiner Hayward along with 15 bipartisan cosponsors.

The new law “Increases from 18 to 21 years old the minimum age to purchase tobacco and nicotine products”, as well as “inhalant delivery systems” (such as e-cigarettes) and establishes “a set of fines ranging from $250-$1,000 for individuals or businesses that distribute or sell” these products to “persons under 21 years of age.”

Read moreOregon Raises Age for Tobacco Products and “Inhalant Delivery Systems” to 21

Oregon Bill to Increase Tobacco Age to 21 Passes Senate Committee

An Oregon Senate committee has given approval to legislation that would raise the minimum age for purchasing tobacco and tobacco products to 21.

Senate Bill 754 was passed by the Senate Healthcare Committee with a close 3 to 2 vote, sending it towards a full Senate vote. The measure was filed by a bipartisan coalition of nine senators and state representatives.

The proposed law “Increases from 18 to 21 years old the minimum age to purchase tobacco and nicotine products.” It would establish “a set of fines ranging from $250-$1,000 for individuals or businesses that distribute or sell tobacco-related products or inhalant delivery systems to persons under 21 years of age.”

Read moreOregon Bill to Increase Tobacco Age to 21 Passes Senate Committee