Oregon Brings in Nearly $9 Million in Taxes from Legal Marijuana in April

Oregon made nearly $9 million in taxes from legal marijuana sales in April.

According to Oregon’s Department of Revenue, the state garnered $8,868,932 in marijuana sales taxes in April of this year. This marks an over 70% increase from April, 2017, when the state brought in a little over $5 million in marijuana taxes.

Of the $8.8 million in taxes garnered in April, the vast majority – $7.6 million – came from Oregon’s 17% state tax on marijuana. The remaining $1.2 million came from local taxes, which can be up to 3%.

Read moreOregon Brings in Nearly $9 Million in Taxes from Legal Marijuana in April

Recreational Cannabis Now Legal in Oregon, Unlimited Hemp Cultivation Now Legal in Connecticut

marijuana plant 400With the clocks striking midnight, July 1st is now upon us and laws legalizing cannabis and hemp have taken effect in Oregon and Connecticut.

In Oregon, it is now entirely legal for anyone 21 and older to possess up to half a pound of cannabis at a private residence, or up to an ounce of cannabis in public. They’re also allowed to cultivate up to four plants for personal use. This is due to portions of Measure 91, approved by voters last year, taking effect.

In Connecticut, thanks to House Bill 5780, it’s now legal to cultivate an unlimited amount of hemp without first receiving a license from the state. Under the new law, hemp, which is defined as having no more than 1% THC, is treated like other agricultural products such as tomatoes.

Read moreRecreational Cannabis Now Legal in Oregon, Unlimited Hemp Cultivation Now Legal in Connecticut

One Week from Today Cannabis Will be Legal in Oregon

cannabis11One week from today, on July 1st, recreational cannabis will become legal for those 21 and older in Oregon, thanks to the voter-approved initiative Measure 91.

Beginning midnight on July 1st, those 21 and older will be allowed to possess up to eight ounces of cannabis at a private residence, or up to an ounce of cannabis in public. In addition, adults will be authorized to cultivate up to four cannabis plants for personal use.

Read moreOne Week from Today Cannabis Will be Legal in Oregon

In Three Weeks Oregon Will Become the Fourth State with Legal Cannabis

flowerWe’re now only three weeks away until July 1st, the day that cannabis possession and cultivation becomes legal in Oregon for those 21 and older. This is thanks to portions of Measure 91, approved by voters last year, taking effect.

As part of the new law, adults will be legally allowed to possess up to half a pound of cannabis (eight ounces) at a private residence, or up to an ounce in public. Those 21 and older will also be allowed to cultivate up to four cannabis plants for personal use.

Read moreIn Three Weeks Oregon Will Become the Fourth State with Legal Cannabis

In 5 Weeks, the Most Progressive Cannabis Possession Law in the World Will take Effect

oregIn just five weeks, on Wednesday, July 1st, the possession and personal cultivation of cannabis will become legal in Oregon. The new law, which allows everyone 21 and older to possess up to half a pound of cannabis at a private residence (an ounce in public), will be the most progressive in the world in terms of how much cannabis an individual is allowed have in their possession.

To put it in perspective, if you’re caught with half a pound of cannabis in Washington State (anything over 40 grams), you can be charged with a class C felony, and imprisoned for up to five years (the same is true in Alaska). In Colorado, possessing half a pound is a misdemeanor with a potential year-long jail sentence.

Read moreIn 5 Weeks, the Most Progressive Cannabis Possession Law in the World Will take Effect

Oregon: Cannabis Possession and Cultivation Becomes Legal on July 1st

In a little over 50 days, on July 1st, the possession and personal cultivation of cannabis will officially become legal for thoseoregon 21 and older in the State of Oregon.

Specifically, those 21 and older, beginning July 1st, will be legally authorized to possess up to eight ounces of cannabis (half a pound), and cultivate up to four cannabis plants for personal use. This is due to portions of Measure 91, approved by voters in November, becoming law.

The Oregon Liquor Commission has until January 1st, 2016 to establish rules and regulations for cannabis retail outlets, which are expected to open by mid-2016. These outlets will be locations where anyone 21 and older can purchase cannabis, including seeds and plants.

Read moreOregon: Cannabis Possession and Cultivation Becomes Legal on July 1st