Nevada: Over $27 Million in Marijuana Sold in First Month of Legal Sales

Millions of dollars worth of marijuana was sold in Nevada in July, the month such sales became legal.

In total, there was $27.1 million in marijuana sold in Nevada in July. By comparison, Washington State sold just $3.8 million in legal marijuana during their first full month of legal sales (which was also in July), and Colorado sold roughly $14 million.

According  to the Nevada Department of Taxation, the state garnered $10.2 million in taxes during July; $6.5 million from industry fees and $3.68 million from tax revenue. Governor Brian Sandoval projects the state to bring in around$100 million over the next two fiscal years from such taxes and fees. However, new projections find that the number may end up closer to $120 million, says Stephanie Klapstein, a spokesperson for the Department of Taxation.

Read moreNevada: Over $27 Million in Marijuana Sold in First Month of Legal Sales

Nevada: Legal Marijuana Sale Begin Saturday

Legal adult marijuana sales will begin in Nevada on Saturday, making it the fifth state in U.S. where legal marijuana sales are taking place.

Marijuana StudiesBeginning at 12:01 a.m. PT, those in Nevada who are 21 and older will be able to purchase up to one ounce of marijuana or one-eighth of an ounce of marijuana-infused edibles or concentrates from licensed marijuana retail outlets. Retail marijuana sales will be subject to a 10 percent sales tax, which state officials estimate will generate more than $60 million in the first two years.

“The marijuana prohibition era is finally coming to an end in Nevada,” says Mason Tvert, director of communications for the Marijuana Policy Project (MPP), which backed Question 2, the initiative to regulate marijuana like alcohol that was approved by approximately 54.5 percent of Nevada voters in November.

Read moreNevada: Legal Marijuana Sale Begin Saturday

Nevada Bill Would Allow Medical Marijuana Patients to Possess Firearms

Legislation to allow medical marijuana patients to legally possess firearms has been introduced in Nevada.

Senator Kelvin Atkinson (D) of Las Vegas introduced Senate Bill 351 yesterday, which would allow medical marijuana patients to possess firearms and a conceal and carry permit. Under current law sheriffs are required to deny a weapons permit if someone is a medical marijuana card holder; if a someone with a firearm permit becomes a medical marijuana patient after receiving the permit, sheriffs currently have the ability to revoke the permit.

Below is the official Legislative Counsel’s Digest of Senate Bill 351:

Read moreNevada Bill Would Allow Medical Marijuana Patients to Possess Firearms

Nevada Bill Would Allow Early Start of Recreational Cannabis Sales

A bill filed today in Nevada’s Senate would allow recreational cannabis sales to begin immediately upon its passage.

Senate Bill 302 would allow medical cannabis dispensaries to immediately begin selling cannabis to anyone 21 and older, regardless of whether or not they’re a qualified patient. Dispensaries would be required to go back to selling exclusively to patients once the state’s recreational cannabis market gets underway.

According to the measure’s legislative counsel’s digest, it “exempts from state prosecution for certain crimes relating to  marijuana a medical marijuana dispensary which sells marijuana, concentrated cannabis, edible marijuana products,  marijuana-infused  products and related supplies and educational materials to a person who is 21 years of age or  older during the period of time between the effective date of this bill and the date upon which the Department of Taxation   issues the first license to a marijuana establishment pursuant to the initiative petition for the retail sale of marijuana and marijuana  products”.

Read moreNevada Bill Would Allow Early Start of Recreational Cannabis Sales

Cannabis is Now Legal in Nevada

Cannabis is now legal in Nevada for those 21+.

Nevada Portions of Nevada’s Question 2 have taken effect as of midnight, January 1st. The new law allows those 21 and older to possess and use up to an ounce of cannabis. Of the four states that legalized cannabis on November 8th, Nevada is the third where possession has become legal, following California on November 9th and Massachusetts on December 15th. Maine will be the next on January 15h.

In addition to allowing cannabis to be possessed and used, Question 2 legalizes a system of regulated cannabis retail outlets, supplied by cannabis cultivation centers. These are expected to be open sometime next year; at this point those living 25 miles or more from a retail outlet will be allowed to cultivate up to six plants at a private residence.

Read moreCannabis is Now Legal in Nevada

Cannabis Becomes Legal in Nevada on January 1st

The new year will bring with it new cannabis laws in Nevada, as portions of Question 2 take effect.

Cannabis Becomes LegalOn December 15th parts of Massachusetts’ Question 4 took effect, legalizing cannabis for those 21 and older. Soon it will be Nevada’s turn, as portions of Question 2 take effect on January 1st.

As with Massachusetts (and California) the new law will allow those 21+ to possess up to an ounce of cannabis. The measure also legalizes cannabis retail outlets, which are expected to be open sometime next year; once open, those living 25 miles or more from one of these outlets will be allowed to cultivate up to six plants at a private residence.

Read moreCannabis Becomes Legal in Nevada on January 1st