Oregon has Garnered Over $54 Million in Cannabis Taxes in 2016

In its first year of legal cannabis sales, Oregon has so far garnered over $54 million in taxes.

cannabis taxes

In total the state has garnered $54,506,832 in taxes from cannabis sales as of November 30th; this is according to data released by the state’s Department of Revenue.. Although this number is impressive, it’s expected to be much higher next year, given the market’s rapid expansion and the fact that designated cannabis retail outlets didn’t open until October; for example in January the state collected $2.5 million in cannabis taxes, which rose to over $7.8 million in October.

Read moreOregon has Garnered Over $54 Million in Cannabis Taxes in 2016

Oregon: Legal Edible Sales for Everyone 21+ Begins Tomorrow

brownStarting tomorrow, June 2nd, dispensaries in Oregon will be able to legally distribute cannabis-infused foods such as brownies and cookies, and cannabis extracts such as oils and tinctures, to anyone 21 and older. This is thanks to Senate Bill 1511, which also allows recreational cannabis retail outlets to sell cannabis to patients tax-free.

Under the new law – signed by Governor Kate Brown in March – dispensaries will be authorized to sell edibles to anyone 21 and older, given they contain no more than 15 mg of THC. Once cannabis retail outlets – licensed by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission – open sometime next year, dispensaries will no longer sale cannabis or cannabis products to non-patients.

Read moreOregon: Legal Edible Sales for Everyone 21+ Begins Tomorrow

Oregon Opens Application Process for Legal Cannabis Industry

sfgate.comOne year and two months after Oregon voters gave approval to Measure 91, legalizing recreational cannabis, the state’s Liquor Control Commission announced today that they’ve opened up the online application system for those wanting to participate in the legal cannabis industry.

Those applying for a license include those wanting to operate a cannabis retail outlet, those wanting to run a cultivation center, and those wanting to test cannabis for potency and pesticides. A separate license will also be required for those wanting to produce cannabis edibles and concentrates. The commission is planning to process applications for labs and outdoor cannabis producers first.

Read moreOregon Opens Application Process for Legal Cannabis Industry

Recreational Cannabis Sales Begin in Less Than 5 Weeks in Oregon

1348595411-blue_dream_from_seven_starsIn less than 5 weeks, on October 1st, Oregon will become the the 3rd state in the U.S. to allow recreational cannabis to be legally sold to those 21 and older, following Colorado and Washington.

On July 1st, thanks to last year’s passage of Measure 91, the possession and personal cultivation of cannabis became legal for those 21 and older. Cannabis retail outlets, licensed and regulated by the state, were also legalized, though they aren’t expected to open until sometime next year. However, Governor Kate Riley in July signed a law allowing recreational cannabis to be sold in the over 300 medical cannabis dispensaries approved to operate in the state, beginning October 1st.

Read moreRecreational Cannabis Sales Begin in Less Than 5 Weeks in Oregon

Oregon Governor Signs Bill Allowing Recreational Cannabis Sales to Begin October 1st

budAs expected, Oregon Governor Kate Brown has signed Senate Bill 460 into law, allowing recreational cannabis sales to begin on October 1st.

The new law allows currently operating medical cannabis dispensaries to begin selling cannabis – including seeds and immature plants – to anyone 21 and older starting October 1st. Cannabis sales won’t be taxed.

According to the Oregon Health Authority, there are over 200 dispensaries operating throughout the state, with dozens more planning to open sometime in the near future. Each of these locations will be authorized to sell recreational cannabis once Senate Bill 460 takes effect.

Read moreOregon Governor Signs Bill Allowing Recreational Cannabis Sales to Begin October 1st

Oregon Governor to Sign Bill Allowing Legal Recreational Cannabis Sales to Begin October 1st

Cannabis being sold at Pure Green, one of over 200 dispensaries that will be allowed to sell cannabis to anyone 21 and older under SB 460.
Cannabis being sold at Portland’s Pure Green, one of over 200 dispensaries that will be allowed to sell cannabis to anyone 21 and older under SB 460.

Oregon Governor Kate Brown plans to sign into law legislation allowing recreational cannabis sales to begin October 1st, according to an anonymous source from within the governor’s office.

Senate Bill 460, which was approved by the House of Representatives 40 to 19 and by the Senate 23 to 6, allows currently operating medical cannabis dispensaries to begin selling cannabis to anyone 21 and older starting October 1st. Cannabis sales won’t be taxed, though only a quarter of an ounce can be purchased at a time. In addition to dried flower, dispensaries will be authorized to sell cannabis seeds and immature plants. According to the Oregon Health Authority, there are 222 dispensaries operating throughout the state, with dozens more planning to open sometime in the near future.

Read moreOregon Governor to Sign Bill Allowing Legal Recreational Cannabis Sales to Begin October 1st

Oregon Governor Signs Cannabis Reform Bill

purple Governor Kate Brown has signed House Bill 3400 into law, a comprehensive measure to implement Measure 91, in addition to reforming the state’s cannabis laws by removing most felony charges and allowing for expungements

In addition to addressing the implementation of Measure 91, which legalized cannabis possess and cultivation on July 1st (with retail outlets expected to open next year), House Bill 3400 contains broad sentencing reform provisions that includes reducing most cannabis felonies to misdemeanors or lesser felonies with significantly reduced sentences.

Read moreOregon Governor Signs Cannabis Reform Bill

Oregon Cannabis Legalization Law Takes Effect, Sales Could Began by the Fall

cannabisohyeahBy Paul Armentano

PORTLAND, OR — Legislation took effect at midnight Wednesday permitting adults to possess and cultivate marijuana for personal use.

Fifty-six percent of state voters approved Measure 91 in November, which allows those over the age of 21 to legally possess up to one ounce of cannabis and/or to engage in the non-commercial cultivation of up to four marijuana plants (yielding up to eight ounces of marijuana).

Read moreOregon Cannabis Legalization Law Takes Effect, Sales Could Began by the Fall

Recreational Cannabis Now Legal in Oregon, Unlimited Hemp Cultivation Now Legal in Connecticut

marijuana plant 400With the clocks striking midnight, July 1st is now upon us and laws legalizing cannabis and hemp have taken effect in Oregon and Connecticut.

In Oregon, it is now entirely legal for anyone 21 and older to possess up to half a pound of cannabis at a private residence, or up to an ounce of cannabis in public. They’re also allowed to cultivate up to four plants for personal use. This is due to portions of Measure 91, approved by voters last year, taking effect.

In Connecticut, thanks to House Bill 5780, it’s now legal to cultivate an unlimited amount of hemp without first receiving a license from the state. Under the new law, hemp, which is defined as having no more than 1% THC, is treated like other agricultural products such as tomatoes.

Read moreRecreational Cannabis Now Legal in Oregon, Unlimited Hemp Cultivation Now Legal in Connecticut

Legislation to Allow Recreational Cannabis Sales to Begin October 1st Passes Oregon Senate

budlegalOregon’s full Senate has voted 23 to 6 to pass Senate Bill 460, a measure that would allow recreational cannabis sales to begin this October. The measure was passed on the eve of legalization taking effect.

Senate Bill 460 would allow currently operating medical cannabis dispensaries to begin selling cannabis – including seeds and immature plants – to anyone 21 and older starting October 1st. Although those 21+ can possess up to an ounce of cannabis, or up to half a pound at a private residence, the new bill would only allow the purchase of up to seven grams, and dispensaries would no longer be able to distribute the plant once recreational outlets open next year.

Read moreLegislation to Allow Recreational Cannabis Sales to Begin October 1st Passes Oregon Senate