Kansas Marijuana Possession Laws

Kansas Marijuana Possession LawsKansas Marijuana Possession Laws:

 

Up to 450 grams:

Penalty: Misdemeanor with up to 6 months in jail and/or a maximum fine of $1,000.

 

450 grams or more (automatically considered for distribution purposes):

Penalty: Felony punishable by 10 to 42 months incarceration and/or a maximize fine of $100,000.

 

For further information on Kansas marijuana laws – including penalties for distribution and cultivation – click here. For recent updates to Kansas’s marijuana possession laws and other Kansas-related stories, click here.

Kansas Legislature Passes Bill to Reduce Penalties for Cannabis Possession

Kansas-FlagThe Kansas House of Representatives on Friday gave approval to legislation that would reduce penalties for the possession of cannabis. The measure has already been passed by the state’s Senate with a unanimous 38 to 0 vote, meaning it will now go to Governor Sam Brownback for consideration; the vote in the House was 96 to 23.

Under the proposed law, the first-time possession of cannabis would be reduced to a minor misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail, down from a serious misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail. Second offenses will be reduced from a felony punishable by up to 3.5 years in prison, to a misdemeanor punishable by a jail term of up to a year. All subsequent offenses would remain felonies.

Read moreKansas Legislature Passes Bill to Reduce Penalties for Cannabis Possession

Kansas Senate Passes Bill to Reduce Penalties for Possessing Up to 450 Grams of Cannabis

discount tire

cannabudKansas’ full Senate has given approval to legislation that would reduce the penalties for the possession of up to 450 grams of cannabis. The vote was an overwhelming 38 to 1.

If passed into law, House Bill 2049 would reduce the penalty associated with someone’s first cannabis possession offense (as long as it’s under 450 grams) to a class B misdemeanor, down from a class A misdemeanor. This reduces the maximum potential jail sentence to six months, down from the possibility of a full year.

House Bill 2049 would also defelonize second cannabis possession offenses, reducing them to a class A misdemeanor, bringing the maximum sentence to a year, down from three and a half years as it currently stands.

Read moreKansas Senate Passes Bill to Reduce Penalties for Possessing Up to 450 Grams of Cannabis

Kansas Senate Committee Votes to Lower Cannabis Penalties, Legalize Medical Cannabis Oil

kansasKansas’ Senate Corrections and Juvenile Justice Committee has given approval today to two cannabis-related bills. One of the proposals would legalize the possession and use of low-THC cannabis oil for medical use, and the other would lower the penalties associated with someone’s first and second cannabis possession offense.

The proposal reduces the charge for first-time cannabis possession to a class B misdemeanor, down from a class A misdemeanor. This reduces the maximum sentence to 6 months, rather than a full year. A person’s second cannabis possession offense would be reduced to a class A misdemeanor, whereas it’s currently a felony.

Read moreKansas Senate Committee Votes to Lower Cannabis Penalties, Legalize Medical Cannabis Oil

Kansas House Approves Bill to Reduce Cannabis Penalties, Legalize Medical Cannabis Extracts, Study Hemp

Kansas-FlagThe Kansas House of Representatives has passed an amended version of House Bill 2049, a proposal that initially would have simply reduce the penalties associated with cannabis possession, but was altered to make several other changes.

The bill, which now moves towards a full Senate vote, would reduce the penalty for the first-time possession of cannabis for personal use from a Class A misdemeanor, to a Class B misdemeanor, reducing the potential jail sentence from a year to six months. This would also reduce the fine from $2,500, to $1,000. The proposal would also reduce the charge for someone’s second offense from a felony to a misdemeanor.

Read moreKansas House Approves Bill to Reduce Cannabis Penalties, Legalize Medical Cannabis Extracts, Study Hemp

Initiative to Decriminalize Cannabis on April 7th Ballot in Wichita, Kansas

An initiative to decriminalize the possession of over an ounce of cannabis is up for a public vote next week on Tuesday, April 7th, in Wichita, Kansas’ largest city.

If approved into law, the initiative would decriminalize the possession of up to 32 grams of cannabis for those 21 and older, making it a simple $50 ticket, rather than the current penalty of a misdemeanor with the potential of up to a year in jail.

Advocates of the initiative submitted enough signatures on January 7th to put the measure before the City Council, which voted 6 to 1 to put it to a vote of the people on April 7th.

Read moreInitiative to Decriminalize Cannabis on April 7th Ballot in Wichita, Kansas

Legislation to Reduce Penalties for Cannabis Possession Approved by Kansas House Committee

Cannabis Initiative

Kansas’ House cannabisohyeahCommittee on Corrections and Juvenile Justice has given unanimous approval to House Bill 2049, a proposal to reduce penalties for the personal possession of cannabis.

Under House Bill 2049, the first time possession of a personal amount of cannabis will be reduced from a Class A misdemeanor, to a Class B misdemeanor, which will reduce he potential sentence from a year, to six months. The penalty for someone;s second cannabis possession offense would be reduced from a felony, to a misdemeanor. Penalties for cannabis distribution and cultivation will remain the same.

Read moreLegislation to Reduce Penalties for Cannabis Possession Approved by Kansas House Committee