Delaware Marijuana Possession Laws

Delaware Marijuana Possession LawsDelaware Marijuana Possession Laws:

 

1 ounce or less:

Penalty: None

 

1 ounce to 175 grams:

Penalty: Misdemeanor with up to 3 months in jail and a maximum fine of $575.

 

175 grams to 1,500 grams:

Penalty: Felony with up to 3 years in prison.

 

1,500 grams to 3,000 grams:

Penalty: Felony with up to 5 years in prison.

 

3,000 to 4,000 grams:

Penalty: Felony with up to 8 years in prison.

 

5,000 grams or more:

Penalty: Felony with a 2 to 25 years in prison (2 years mandatory minimum).

 

For further information on Delaware marijuana laws – including penalties for distribution and cultivation – click here. For recent updates to Delaware marijuana possession laws and other Delaware-related stories, click here.

Cannabis Possession Now Decriminalized in Delaware

cannabis possessionThe possession of up to an ounce of cannabis is no longer a criminal offense for those 21 and older in Delaware, thanks to House Bill 39 officially taking effect at 12:00am EST on Friday, December 18th.

The new law makes it so that those 21 and older caught possessing up to an ounce of cannabis in Delaware can no longer be arrested, charged with a criminal misdemeanor and put in jail for up to 3 months, as the law previously allowed. The fine is set at a maximum of $100.

Read moreCannabis Possession Now Decriminalized in Delaware