Arkansas Legislature Unanimously Passes Marijuana Rescheduling Bill

Legislation to allow the Arkansas Department of Health to reschedule marijuana once there’s a change in federal law has passed the state’s full legislature.

House Bill 1402, which has no immediate impact on Arkansas marijuana laws, was passed by the Senate with unanimous 31 to 0 vote. The vote in the House of Representatives was also unanimous, 85 to 0. The measure now goes to Governor Asa Hutchinson (R), who can sign it into law, allowing it to become law without his signature or veto it (if he does veto it the legislature can override it with a 2/3rds vote).

Under the proposed law, Arkansas Code ยง 5-64-201(d), “concerning the duties of the Director of the Department of Health concerning the scheduling of a controlled substance”, would be amended to add a new subdivision to read as follows:

Read moreArkansas Legislature Unanimously Passes Marijuana Rescheduling Bill

Arkansas Marijuana Possession Laws

Arkansas Marijuana Possession Laws:

 

Less than 4 oz (first offense)MisdemeanorIncarceration: 1 year or lessFine: $2,500
1 – less than 4 oz (subsequent offense)FelonyIncarceration: 6 years or lessFine: $10,000
4 oz – less than 10 lbsFelonyIncarceration: 6 years or lessFine: $10,000
10 – less than 25 lbsFelonyIncarceration: 3* – 10 yearsFine: $10,000
25 – less than 100 lbsFelonyIncarceration: 5* – 20 yearsFine: $15,000
100 – less than 500 lbsFelonyIncarceration: 6* – 30 yearsFine: $15,000

 

Arkansas Marijuana Possession Laws

For further information on Arkansas marijuana laws – including penalties for distribution and cultivation – click here. For recent updates to Arkansas marijuana possession laws and other Arkansas-related stories, click here.