Georgia Marijuana Possession Laws

Georgia Marijuana Possession LawsGeorgia Marijuana Possession Laws:

 

1 ounce or less:

Penalty: Misdemeanor with up to 1 year in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000.

 

More than 1 ounce:

Penalty: Felony with 1 to 10 years in prison (1 year mandatory minimum) and a maximum fine of $5,000.

 

For further information on Georgia marijuana laws – including penalties for distribution and cultivation – click here. For recent updates to Georgia marijuana possession laws and other Georgia–related stories, click here.

 

Obama’s 2016 Budget Would Allow D.C. to Legalize and Regulate Cannabis Sales

President Obama on Monday released his proposal for the federal government’sbudget 2016 budget. As part of the 2,000-page, $4 trillion proposed budget, Obama is calling for a reversal of recent congressional action that prohibits the District of Columbia from legalizing recreational cannabis sales.

In November, D.C. voters overwhelmingly approved an initiative that legalized the possession of up to two ounces of cannabis. The initiative didn’t, however, legalize cannabis sales.

Read moreObama’s 2016 Budget Would Allow D.C. to Legalize and Regulate Cannabis Sales