Republicans Block Vote on Continuing to Protect Medical Marijuana States

House Republicans have blocked a vote on renewing the Rohrabacher-Farr amendment, which protects state medical marijuana laws.

“The status quo for four years has been the federal government will not interfere because the Department of Justice is not permitted to use its resources to supercede a state that has legalized the medical use of marijuana,” said California Representative Rohrabacher (R) in a meeting earlier today with other House Republicans. By blocking a vote, Rohrabacher says “we’re changing the status quo in a way that undermines the rights of the states and the people.. to make their policy.”

Representative Duncan Hunter, also a Republican from California, told The Hill that the amendment “splits the conference too much so we’re not going to have a vote on it.”

Failure to vote on the amendment could lead to it expiring later this year, giving the federal government – more specifically Attorney General Jeff Sessions and the Department of Justice – full legal and financial authority to go after medical marijuana dispensaries and patients.

About Anthony Martinelli

Anthony, co-founder and Editor-in-Chief of TheJointBlog, has worked closely with numerous elected officials who support cannabis law reform, including as the former Campaign Manager for Washington State Representative Dave Upthegrove. He has also been published by multiple media outlets, including the Seattle Times. He can be reached at TheJointBlog@TheJointBlog.com.

1 comment

  1. Anonymous

    they need to post the names of the republicans on the committee that blocked the vote to begin with. We need to get these anti medical cannabis out of Congress they represent 8% of the minority of voers who are against legal medical cannabis. Come on voters get these Dinosauers out of the Senate and House in 2018 elections

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>