A Change.org petition calling on Washington State’s lawmakers to end felonies for personal cannabis possession has received over 1,000 signatures in just a 10-day period.
“In Washington the possession of up to 28 grams of cannabis is legal for those 21 and older, due to the passage of Initiative 502 in 2012”, states the petition. “However, the possession of just 50% more than this – anything over 40 grams – is a class C felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.”
The petition notes that this is the same charge as many heinous crimes such as Unlawful Imprisonment (RCW 9A.40.040), Rape of a Child in the Third Degree (RCW 9a.44.079) and Reckless Burning in the First Degree (RCW 9A.48.040). The possession threshold for a felony is actually harsher than 32 other states.
Due to this, the petition and those signing it are calling on lawmakers in the state to “pass legislation that would amend the law in order to remove the potential of a felony charge for the personal possession of cannabis”.
Every signature on the petition results in an e-mail being sent to every member of Washington’s Legislature, as well as Governor Jay Inslee, urging them to make a change.
The petition ends by stating; “If a substance is legal, no one should receive a felony conviction for possessing it.”
Those wanting to sign the petition can do so by clicking here.