Oregon’s full legislature has approved Senate Bill 82, as well as Senate Bill 40, both designed to drastically reduce the penalties associated with minor cannabis-related offenses. Both measure’s now head to the governor, where they’re expected to be signed into law.
Under Senate Bill 82, it will no longer result in the automatic suspension of someone’s driver’s license if they’re caught possessing up to an ounce of cannabis – this will effect roughly 5,000 Oregonians annually.
Senate Bill 40 is further reaching, significantly reducing the penalties associated with the possession, and even manufacturing of cannabis.
Under Senate Bill 40:
- Possession of up to an ounce of marijuana will no longer result in a misdemeanor charge, but instead will be a civil infraction, similar to states such as California and Massachusetts.
- Possession of one to four ounces of marijuana will be reduced to a class Class B misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum of six months in jail. Under current law, possessing anything over an ounce is a felony that can garner up to 10 years in prison.
- Possession of anything more than four ounces will be reduced to a maximum of five years in prison, half of the current maximum charge of 10 years.
- Manufacturing marijuana will be reduced to a Class B felony, punishable by maximum of 10 years in prison – currently cultivating any amount in Oregon, if not a qualified patient, is punishable by up to 20 years in prison.
Both of these measure are huge steps forward and will effect thousands of lives. Those wanting to push the governor to sign these measures can find his contact info by clicking here.