Ontario Announces the First 14 Cities to Have Legal Marijuana Stores

The Liquor Control Board of Ontario has announced the first cities that will be home to legal marijuana stores.

Last month Ontario officials unveiled their framework for the legal marijuana industry, which includes having 150 marijuana stores open by 2020, with online sales beginning next year. Yesterday, the Liquor Control Board announced the first 14 cities where legal marijuana outlets will be open.

Those cities will be:

  • Brampton
  • Vaughan
  • Toronto
  • London

  • Mississauga
  • Hamilton Barrie
  • Kingston, Kitchener
  • Sault Ste. Marie
  • Ottawa
  • Thunder Bay
  • Windsor
  • Sudbury

Ontario is the first province or territory in Canada to put forth a comprehensive plan for the legal marijuana industry. The plan includes allowing those 19 and older to legally purchase marijuana from marijuana stores overseen by the Liquor Control Board.

Leave a Comment