Medical Cannabis Dispensaries to Open Throughout New York Within 6 Months

newjerseyThe New York State Department of Health issued licenses today to five organizations giving them the authority to cultivate and distribute cannabis for medical use.

Each of the five organizations will be allowed to open four dispensaries and four cultivate centers, with the dispensaries mandated to be open within six months (putting the deadline at the end of January).

These outlets are possible do to the Compassionate Care Act, which was signed into law by Governor Andrew Cuomo in July of last year.

According to the Health Department, licenses were issued after a “rigorous and comprehensive” review of applicants.

The companies awarded licenses are Bloomfield Industries, Columbia Care NY, Empire State Health Solutions, Etain and PharmaCann. Dispensaries will be located in Nassau, Clinton, Onodaga, Erie, Suffolk, New York, Broome, Albany, Westchester, Monroe, Queens, Ulster and Bronx counties.

As part of New York’s medical cannabis law, those with certain “severe, debilitating, or life-threatening” conditions – such as cancer, HIV/AIDS and epilepsy – are allowed to purchase, possess and use medical cannabis in non-smokable forms, if the register with the Department of Health.


Leave a Comment