1 ounce or less:
Penalty: Civil infraction up to $100.
More than 1 ounce (first offense):
Penalty: Misdemeanor with up to 6 months in jail and/or a maximum fine of $500.
More than 1 ounce (subsequent offenses):
Penalty: Misdemeanor with up to 1 year in jail and/or a maximum fine of $2,000.
For further information on Massachusetts marijuana laws – including penalties for distribution and cultivation – click here. For recent updates to Massachusetts”s marijuana possession laws and other Massachusetts related stories, click here.