Senate Bill 364, which was signed into law by Governor Martin O’Malley in April, decriminalizes the possession of up to 10 grams of cannabis, making it a simple $100 ticket for someone’s first offense. A second offense will be a ticket of $250, and all subsequent tickets will carry a maximum fine of $500. Under no circumstance will the personal possession of up to 10 grams of cannabis result in a criminal charge under the new law.
Under current Maryland law, the possession of up to 10 grams of cannabis is a misdemeanor which carries with it a potential 90 day jail sentence.
According to polling released earlier this year, 72% of Maryland voters support decriminalizing cannabis.
[Correction: Originally this article stated that October 1st is on a Thursday, when in fact it is on a Wednesday. We apologize for the mistake.]