Delaware: Law Decriminalizing Cannabis Possession Takes Effect Tomorrow
Under the new law, the possession and use of up to an ounce of cannabis will no longer be a criminal offense for those 21 and older, but instead will become a maximum fine of $100. Those 18 to 21 will have their first offense decriminalized, with subsequent offenses resulting in a misdemeanor that can be expunged once the individual turns 21.
Under current Delaware law, the possession of up to an ounce of cannabis is a misdemeanor punishable by a $575 fine and up to three months in jail.
House Bill 39 was given final approval by lawmakers on June 8th of this year, and was signed by the governor the same day.