1 ounce or less
1 to 2 ounces
Penalty: Petty offense, potential $100 fine.
2 to 6 ounces
Penalty: Misdemeanor, up to a year in jail and/or a $700 fine.
6 to 12 ounces
Penalty: Misdemeanor with 6 to 18 months behind bars and/or a $5,000 fine.
More than 12 ounces
Penalty: Felony with a 1 to 2 year prison sentence and a maximum fine of $100,000.
For further information on Colorado marijuana laws – including penalties for distribution and cultivation – click here. For recent updates to Colorado’s marijuana possession laws and other Colorado-related stories, click here.