Colorado Department of Agriculture Adopts Rules for Legal Hemp Production
The Colorado Department of Agriculture announced late this week that it has officially adopted the state’s first-ever rules and regulations for industrial hemp, following the state’s recent legalization of hemp production.
The new rules, which are in immediate effect, allows hemp producers to begin registering with the Department’s industrial hemp program beginning March 1st.
“These rules are the first step to allow Colorado producers to legally grow industrial hemp,” says Colorado Deputy Commissioner of Agriculture Ron Carleton.
To grow hemp during the 2014 cultivation season, producers must register by May 1st. According to the Department, the annual registration fee will be $200, plus an additional $1 per acre (if the individual or group is planning to cultivate their hemp for research purposes, the fee will be altered to $100, plus $5 per acre).
Under the state’s law, farmers must keep their hemp at or below 0.3% THC.
More information on Colorado’s hemp rules can be found by clicking here.