Cannabis Possession Now Decriminalized in Delaware
The possession of up to an ounce of cannabis is no longer a criminal offense for those 21 and older in Delaware, thanks to House Bill 39 officially taking effect at 12:00am EST on Friday, December 18th.
The new law makes it so that those 21 and older caught possessing up to an ounce of cannabis in Delaware can no longer be arrested, charged with a criminal misdemeanor and put in jail for up to 3 months, as the law previously allowed. The fine is set at a maximum of $100.
Cannabis possession is also decriminalized for those 18 to 21, but only for their first offense. However, subsequent offenses, which will be misdemeanors, can be expunged once an individual turns 21.
The new law is expected to save the state millions in dollars in reduced enforcement costs.