Cannabis Decriminalization Measure Introduced in Wyoming
A legislative proposal to decriminalize cannabis possession has been filed in Wyoming. Under House Bill 49, the possession of up to an ounce of cannabis will no longer be a criminal offense.
Under current Wyoming law, the possession of even a minuscule amount of cannabis can result in up to a year in prison. Under House Bill 49, the penalty for possession of up to half an ounce of cannabis will be a $50 ticket, and for possession of half an ounce to an ounce, it will be an $100 ticket.
Earlier this month an initiative to legalize cannabis was introduced in Wyoming; under this proposal – which proponents hope to put to a vote in 2016 – the possession of up to 3 ounces of cannabis will be legal, as will state-licensed retail outlets. Those who qualify as medical cannabis patients would be authorized to possess 12 ounces, and cultivate up to 12 plants.
If House Bill 49 is approved into law, it will take effect on July 1st.