Georgia: Legislation to Decriminalize Cannabis Introduced
Under the proposed law – House Bill 1046 – those caught possessing up to an ounce of cannabis in Georgia would no longer be arrested and charged with a criminal misdemeanor that carries a jail sentence of up to a year. Instead, a ticket of no more than $250 could be administered for a first offense, $500 for a second offense and $750 for a third and subsequent offense. No number of offenses would result in jail time.
According to state data, Georgia currently arrests roughly 30,000 people for cannabis on an annual basis.
The full text of House Bill 1046 can be found by clicking here.